We won’t conduct elections in LCDAs created by Amosun –OGSIEC


By Wisdom Deji-Folutile

The Ogun State Independent Electoral Commission has said that it would not conduct elections into the 37 local council development areas created by former governor Ibikunle Amosun.

OGSIEC stated that the constitution does not recognise the LCDAs, saying it was focusing on the existing 20 LGAs.

Amosun, during his second term in office, created the 37 LCDAs and was passed into law by the Ogun State House of Assembly.

In 2016, elections were conducted in the 20 LGAs and the 37 LCDAs by OGSIEC.

The three-year tenure of the council chairmen expired in 2019, a few months after the incumbent governor, Dapo Abiodun, came on board.

READ ALSO: Brazil prepares for third wave of COVID-19 

In January 2020, Abiodun appointed transition committees into the 20 LGAs, ignoring the 37 new LCDAs created by his predecessor.

Speaking on a radio programme in Abeokuta, the OGSIEC Chairman, Babatunde Osibodu, said what the commission has was the 20 LGAs.

He said, “We are not (conducting elections into LCDAs). The constitution only recognises local government areas, which are 20.

“For LCDAS, there is a process you need to go through in order for them to really become part of the fabric, and right now, we have not met such a thing on ground. What we have as at today, and we are going with, is the 20 local governments.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here