Buhari appoints EFCC board members after six years



By Henry Okonkwo

President Muhammadu Buhari has appointed board members for the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission after six years.

Umar Gwandu, spokesperson for Attorney-General of the Federation and Minister of Justice, Abubakar Malami, disclosed this in a statement on Monday.

The President appointed George Abang Ekpungu as Secretary of the anti-graft agency.

Other members of the board are Luqman Muhammad (South-South), Anumba Adaeze (South-East), Kole Raheem Adesina (North Central) and Yahya Muhammad (North-East).

READ ALSO: Restructuring not recipe for war, rights group tells Buhari

The appointment is for a fresh tenure of five years and the board would be chaired by EFCC boss, Abdulrasheed Bawa.

Their appointment is in line with Section 2 (1) and Section 4 of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission Act, 2004.

Gwandu recalled that the “EFCC has been operating without board members since 2015”.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here