Sanwo-Olu inaugurates road safety advisory council

Lagos State Governor, Mr Babajide Sanwo-Olu, on Wednesday inaugurated a 12-member State Road Safety Advisory Council (SaRSAC) to work on solving the challenges of road safety in the state.

Speaking during the inauguration of the council at the Lagos House, Marina, Sanwo-Olu – who chairs the council with his deputy, Dr Obafemi Hamzat, as an alternate chairman – said the initiative demonstrated the commitment and premium his administration placed on the lives of the citizens.

The governor said the setting-up of SaRSAC was a demonstration of his administration’s commitment to ensuring safety on Lagos roads through the implementation of the National Road Safety Strategy II, which encapsulates the key strategic elements that will provide direction for the 2019-2023 period.

He said the objectives of the board included ensuring road infrastructure, complying with global standards, drafting the implementation of the road safety strategy, ensuring coordination between the state and local governments, developing funding plan for road safety, monitoring funds disbursed for the initiative, among other duties.

READ ALSO: Sanwo-Olu gets Governor of the Year Award

He said, “Our administration places a premium on the safety of lives and property of the citizens and we have continued to demonstrate this commitment through the implementation of the various policies and strategies aimed at making our roads safer for all.

“As a sub-national government, we have been in the forefront of the implementation of global road safety strategies, including the United Nations Decade of Action for Road Safety, which ended in 2020.

“Parts of the strategies we are implementing include ensuring that our road infrastructures comply with global standard for safety, capacity improvement of relevant agencies including the Vehicle Inspection Services (VIS), Lagos State Traffic Management Authority (LASTMA), Lagos State Emergency Management Authority (LASEMA), and the State Fire Service.

“The primary responsibility of this council, which comprises principal road safety stakeholders, is to drive the implementation of the National Road Safety Strategy (NRSS) in the state.”

The governor charged members of the advisory council to contribute their quota to make the roads in the state safer.

Other members of the 12-man committee are: the commissioners for Transportation (Dr Frederic Oladeinde), Health (Prof Akin Abayomi), Education (Mrs Folasade Adefisayo), Environment (Mr Tunji Bello), and Finance (Dr Rabiu Olowo).

Others are the Commissioner for Justice and Attorney General of the State (Mr Moyosore Onigbanjo, SAN); Commissioner for Budget and Economic Planning (Mr Sam Egube); Special Adviser to the Governor on Works and Infrastructure, Mr Aramide Adeyooye; Director of Vehicle Inspection Services (VIS), Mr Akin-George Fashola; Lagos State Sector Commander of the Federal Road Safety Corps (FRSC), Mr Olusegun Ogungbemide, and member, Nigerian Society of Engineers, Mr Olutosin Ogunmola.

Speaking earlier, the Commissioner for Transportation, Oladeinde, said the council was committed to addressing road safety challenges in line with the administration’s “THEMES” agenda.

Latest news
Related news


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here