Buhari’s EFCC board nominees get Senate’s nod

The Senate has confirmed President Muhammadu Buhari’s five nominees for appointment as Secretary and Board Members of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC).

Their confirmation is sequel to a presentation and consideration of report of the Committee on Anti-Corruption and Financial Crimes at plenary on Tuesday.

Chairman of the committee, Sen Kwari Abdu, (APC-Kaduna ) while presenting the report, said the request to confirm the nominees was made in accordance with the EFCC Act 2004.

According to him, the act provides for the appointment of the Secretary to the commission, which shall be the Head of Administration of EFCC and appointment of four eminent Nigerians with cognate experience in finance, banking or accounting, in addition to any other requirements.

According to him, the committee in furtherance of its mandate had screened the nominees on Sept 27.

Kwari said the nominees gave in-depth responses to the questions from the committee members on issues relating to the mandate of the EFCC.

Read also: How 25 EFCC operatives broke into my home, assaulted me – Journalist

He said the committee after scrutinising the credentials of the nominees was satisfied that they have the requisite experience, integrity and professional competence and industry to function in the positions they were nominated for.

According to him, there is no security reports and petitions against the nominees.

He consequently recommended that Senate approve their nominations.

Senate thereafter after a voice vote approved their appointments.

The News Agency of Nigeria reports that the five nominees confirmed by the Senate are: George Abang Ekunugu (Cross River) as Secretary.

Those to serve as board members are Luqman Muhammed (Edo), Anumba Adaeze (Enugu), Alhaji Kola Adesina (Kwara), and Alhaji Yahaya Muhammad (Yobe).

Latest news
Related news


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here