APC Guber Primaries: Late voting begins in Lagos


Voting began late at the APC governorship primaries in Lagos State amidst tight security, and watch of officials of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that voting began at 2:00 p.m. after the completion of the accreditation of ad hoc delegates.

The primaries were slated for 10 a.m.

The APC Governorship Special Congress is holding at the Mobolaji Johnson Arena, formerly known as Onikan Stadium, on Lagos Island, on Thursday.


The voting began with ad hoc delegates from Agege.

READ ALSO: Adamu, APC Chairman, debunks reports of consensus agreement among presidential aspirants

In his remarks after the accreditation exercise, Adamu Yuguda, Chairman of the five-man committee, said that 1,198 delegates were accredited out of 1,225 ad hoc delegates being expected.

NAN reports that out of the three contestants for the APC governorship ticket, only the incumbent, Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu, was on the ground at the time of commencement of the special congress.

The two other aspirants in the race, a former commissioner, Wale Oluwo, and a former permanent secretary, Abdul-Ahmed Mustapha, were yet to arrive as of the time of filing this report.