OSUN2022 LIVE: Adeleke votes as voting begins in Osun State


By Gideon Adonai

Ademola Adeleke, candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party PDP, is the first among the contenders to cast his vote on Saturdays at polling unit 009, Ward 02, Ede North.

Voting is already underway as women come forward to exercise their franchise at Polling Unit 006, Registration 06, Ikire.


After casting his vote, Ademola Adeleke said: “I’m impressed with the electoral process at the moment, everything is going on smoothly, I’ll be on ground to monitor things.”

Mahmood Yakubu, chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission, had earlier said 76 percent of registered voters in Osun state have their permanent voters cards (PVCs).

Of the 1,955,657 registered voters in Osun state, 1,479,595 (or 76%) had collected their PVCs as of Sunday, July 10, 2022.


In total, there are 15 candidates in this governorship election.

Gboyega Oyetola (APC)

Ademola Adeleke (PDP)

Yusuf Lasun (LP)

Oyegoke Omigbodun (SDP)

Akin Ogunbiyi (Accord Party)

Munirudeen Atanda (ADP)

Lukman Awoyemi (APM)

Busuyi Ayowole (PRP)

Awojide Segun (AAC)

Adeleke Adedapo 9BP)

Adebayo Elisha (APP)

Rasaq Saliu (NNPP)

Abede Samuel (NRM)

Ademola Adeseye (YPP)

Adesuyi Olufemi (ZLP)