Kenya: William Ruto takes oath of office, appoints six judges immediately


By Gideon Adonai 

William Ruto has been sworn
in as the fifth fifth president of

Ruto of Kenya Kwanza took

oath of office as the fifth president of Kenya on Tuesday, September 13,
2022. Rigathi Gachagua also
took the oath of office as the deputy
president of the country.


According to the interior ministry, 60,000 people,Bincluding 20 heads of states, wer at the event at Kasarani Stadium

President Ruto has immediately appointed the six judges that were nominated for appointment some time ago by the Judicial Service Commission.
Immediately after his inauguration, President Ruto kicked off his official duties by signing two separate gazette notices appointing four Court of Appeal judges and two Environment and Land Court judges at State House, Nairobi.

READ ALSO: Ruto’s swearing-in evidence of robust democratic institutions, says Osinbajo

The Court of Appeal Judges appointed by Dr. Ruto are Korir Weldon Kipyegon, Muchelule Aggrey Otsyula, Odunga George Vincent and Prof. Joel Mwaura Ngugi.

“In exercise of the powers conferred by Article 166(1) of the Constitution of Kenya, I, William Samoei Ruto, President and Commander-in-Chief of the Kenya Defence Forces, appoint –Korir Weldon Kipyegon, Muchelule Aggrey Otsyula, Odunga George Vincent, Joel Mwaura Ngugi,” read part of the gazette notice signed by President Ruto appointing the appellate judges.

The two Environment and Land Court judges appointed by the Head of State are Makori Evans Kiago and Cheruiyot Omange Judith Elizabeth.